Amokura Kawharu elected to the Academy of the Royal Society Te Apārangi

Publication Date 
06 April 2022

On behalf of Te Aka Matua o te Ture, I am delighted to congratulate Amokura Kawharu, our Tumu Whakarae | President, as one of Ngā Ahurei hou a Te Apārangi new Fellows to have been elected to the Academy of the Royal Society Te Apārangi.

This is a significant honour that recognises Amokura’s distinction in research and scholarship, including as the foremost scholar of New Zealand arbitration law and in her role in leading the consideration of te ao Māori in the process of law reform at Te Aka Matua o te Ture.

As the Chair of the Academy Executive Committee Professor Charlotte Macdonald FRSNZ said, the election of these new fellows “adds to the depth of knowledge held within the Academy; they will help support the purpose of Royal Society Te Apārangi to engage with New Zealanders on topics important to all and to recognise outstanding researchers working in Aotearoa.”

Read more about Amokura’s citation here: Researchers and scholars at the top of their fields elected as Fellows (


Ngā mihi, nā

Helen McQueen

Tumu Whakarae Tuarua | Deputy President