Māori Liaison Committee

The Māori Liaison Committee supports the Law Commission to take Māori perspectives into account in our work.  The Committee’s Terms of Reference are here.

The Committee has permanent members drawn from the judiciary, the legal profession, academia and te ao Māori. It may also have advisory members, who, on an ad hoc basis, give advice on projects where they have expertise.

The Committee’s core members are:

  • Justice Joe Williams (chair)
  • Sir Hirini Moko Mead
  • Deputy Chief Judge Caren Fox
  • Peter Adds
  • Tai Ahu
  • Jason Ake
  • Judge Denise Clark
  • Liz Mellish
  • Judge Damian Stone
  • Baden Vertongen